Know the four Vedas
  • posted by
  • ColorsTv
  • last updated on
  • March 11, 2013
  • at
  • 3:12 pm

The Vedas are the most sacred books of India. They are the original scriptures of Hindu teachings, and contain spiritual knowledge encompassing all aspects of our life. “Veda” means wisdom, knowledge or vision, and it manifests the language of the gods in human speech.

The Vedas are four: The Rig-Veda, the Sama Veda, the Yajur Veda and the Atharva Veda, the Rig Veda being the main. Read on to know what each Veda means…

1. Rig Veda: ‘Rik’ means praise. It holds praises for the deities like Indra, Agni, Rudra, and the two Ashwini gods, Varuna, Maruts, Savitru and Surya. It contains 1017 hymns, all praising the gods.

2. Yajur Veda: ‘Yajush’ means rituals. Yajur Veda holds different rituals and sacrifices to be conducted to pacify gods. Yajur Veda explains the offerings to be made to gods through Agni (fire).

3. Sama Veda: ‘Sama’ means song. Sama Veda holds the verses to be sung. These verses are built in their root form using the 7 notes: Sa, Re, Ga, Ma, Pa, Dha, Ni which are the basis of the classical music now existing in India.

4. Atharva Veda: Atharva Veda holds useful rituals to attain worldly happiness. It contains description of diseases, how to cure them, sins and how to remove their effects and means of acquiring wealth.

In Jag Janani Maa Durga watch what happened when Durgam Asur acquired the four Vedas from Brahmaji? Watch it right here!

Post Your Comments